Mount Ida Chamber Logo

Welcome to the Mount Ida Area Chamber of Commerce

also serving Norman, Caddo Gap, Oden, Story and Montgomery County

Business DirectoryLodgingQuartz CrystalsCommunity CalenderRestaurants

The Mount Ida Area Chamber of Commerce serves Montgomery County, Arkansas.
Montgomery County
Montgomery County, formed on December 9, 1842, was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery, a hero of the American Revolution. The county was once the hunting grounds of the Caddo Indians. The county seat is Mount Ida. Landscape of the county is long, narrow ridges of folded rock, large fertile valleys, and mountains (Ouachita) covered with oak and pine timber.

Montgomery County’s natural resources and its rugged beauty are its livelihood. Sixty-three percent of the county is national forest land with the federal government being a stable employer. Cattle, swine and poultry production, along with mining and tourism makes up the economy. The Ouachita Mountain range of Arkansas is one of only three known areas in the world to have enough high quality quartz crystal to warrant mining. In 1987, more than two million tons of quartz was mined in Montgomery County for uses ranging from decorative items to computer chips. Each year Montgomery County has an annual Quartz Crystal Festival and Crystal Dig. Many Tourists come to dig quartz crystal. The scenic beauty and recreation draw visitors from far and near.

Lake Ouachita, Arkansas’ largest covers so many acres the county had to have a lake patrol in addition to its regular sheriff’s and forest patrol. Thousands visit the park areas each year to enjoy the clear water, fishing and many other water sports. The Ouachita River, the Caddo River and the Little Missouri River all flow through the county. The Missouri River drops an average of 35 feet per mile in its 29-mile journey through southern Montgomery County.

The Montgomery County Courthouse houses early history of the county. It is made of native stone and is now listed on the National Register of Historical Places.

Montgomery County Officials
County Judge, Sammy Jones 870-867-3114,
Assessor, Tammy McCarter (870) 867-3271,
Coroner, Elece M. Parliment (870) 867-2001
Treasurer, Betty Boling (870) 867-3411,
Collector, David E. White 870) 867-3155,
Circuit Clerk, Debbie Baxter (870) 867-3521,
Sheriff, David E. White (870) 867-3151,
County Clerk, Debbie Baxter (870) 867-3521,

Justices of the Peace: Johnette Rowland, Mike Dobbs, Barry Spivey, Floyd McKinzie, Kenn Greene, Melissa Powell, Linda E. Jester, Terry Black, Dan McCarter

Link to: Montgomery County Departments

Link to: Arkansas Association of Counties

Link to: Arkansas Municipal League

Cities in Montgomery County, Arkansas:

Black Springs
Mount Ida

Mount Ida Area Chamber of Commerce
124 Hwy 270 West, Mount Ida, Arkansas 71957 - 870-867-2723
Map     Like Us on Facebook!